6th Grade Unit: Vivaldi's Four Seasons

Post date: Sep 29, 2016 2:5:13 PM

Antonio Vivaldi's Four Seasons

Sixth grade students are midway through a unit studying Antonio Vivaldi and his four violin concerti, "The Four Seasons." We are working through these twelve movements together in class, and making connections with their accompanying sonnets. Vivaldi's symbolic music represents characteristics of each season such as storms, celebrations, slippery roads, and even hunters! It has been a lot of fun seeing the connections that students have made.

At the conclusion of this unit, students will be given a listening quiz. Using the listening journal that they have created in class, students will be given a season, and asked to identify what movement they are hearing. An copy of the listening quiz is attached to this post. Recordings of the Wichita State University Chamber Players performing each movement can be found here for practice at home.

Listening Quiz Dates:

6H: October 12

6S: October 14

6W: October 13